Philippi Music Project
Author
Mawena Yehouessi

Philippi is the name of a township of Cape Town (South Africa), but it is also the origin of Philippi Music Project, a social innovation and musical project launched in 2014 by Sibusiso Nyamakazi and Baptiste Guillemet.

On one side, there are the slums, these hyper impoverished neighborhoods of Africa, South America and elsewhere which are a priviledged ground for crimes and addictions – among other plagues – but which also abound in inventiveness and resourcefulness, with raw and alternative talents whose will and enthusiasm commands respect. On the other side, there is Cape Town : an overactive city-of-light, copious and admirable in many ways and whose attractiveness is no longer to prove. The concern – and we know it all too well – is that this South African metropolis, like any other self-respecting metropolis, has built its superb on the basis of the exclusion and denial of its most distressed populations, and the scars of 43 years of apartheid, abolished in 1991…

But we are not here to do a course on the lapels of the capitalist glory or insist on the daily trials and tribulations of the townships life. What does interest us here is this initiative, Philippi Music Project, which is not the bearer of translucent hopes or glitters but offers concrete solutions to the inhabitants of the eponymous district and its surrounding area.

_________

12642483_787189054720928_5783308189001716589_n

It all begins with Sibusiso Nyamakazi, 23 years old at the time, writer, musician and MC. Charismatic as hell, he is actively involved in several community development programs in Philippi, the neighbourhood where he grew up (such as the Inyanda Youth Network). In July 2014, he meets some students in Social Innovation from the University of Cape Town. Among them, their is Baptiste Guillemet, a young French folk catapulted into the area thanks to a mixture of karma and genuine curiosity. From buddies, they quickly become partners as they soon realise how urgent it is to change things, here and now, with what you have in hand, rather than waiting for the solutions to arrive all cooked-up and in a nice packaging…

dmmysyyynf7c9maju3px

Their idea is simple : find a sustainable way to bridge the gap between Cape Town and its townships. Music turned out to be a natural tool to use, as a cathartic experience that empower these young people : music is a social connector facilitating exchanges and mutual learnings ! They decide then to launch a music contest, to offer to these underpriviledged musicians and singers the opportunity to take part in the professional production of a compilation, and work with players from the industry (producers, media, music studio) and produce, market and sell a music product.

In less than 1 month, they receive 150 tracks coming from Philippi and other townships of Cape Town. Very quickly they realize that to propose to these artists to come and record to Cape Town is a good starter, but how do you achieve this when most of them do not even have the technical and financial means to record their material to apply for the contest. Instead of giving up, Sbu et Bap, as they like to name each other, decide to go visit these local artists and to do the job by their own despite the technical difficulties ; the first one would use his reputation of social activist and his connexions in the neighbourhood to find the artists, the second one would bring his mobile recording studio and his mic to record the magic.

IMAGE 01

The project is well received by the locals and the media, and the jury panel composed by music producers and reknown artists from the industry, members of record labels such as Black Mango Music or from active organizations in the field of electronic music like RedBull or Bridges for Music, select 10 artists coming from different genres, hip-hop, house or even gospel music to produce a compilation. But after the effervescence, the ongoing situation in the townships has not really evolved and the lack of infrastructures is still there : our two friends start to think about the second phase of their project.

Philippi Music Project, is a 12 meters long container turned into a fully equipped professional and soundproofed recording studio. But because PMP is developing a sustainable approach and want to offer a platform adapted to the reality of the hood, the needs and the constraints of these artists, it is also building a network of associated and connected players who bring value to the offer : Britecap (a job-search tool through a mobile app), Playing for Change (a network of music schools) or the SAE Institute (a school of music, design and audiovisual which is providing training, workshops and access to scholarships)…

12669909_10153886414839872_1739362507_o

Besides this network, PMP exists also through the creation of events, gigs, workshops and mentorship provided for free to all the users of the studio. The Philippi Music Project gets its revenue streams through studio services such as recording, mastering and mixing. The distribution, the events and gigs also generate some revenue, shared with the artists. Because it’s not about being another NGO relying on perpetual donations, but it is about initiating a new social and solidarity economy, sustainable, coming from and made for the townships.

Today, Philippi Music Project needs us : you + you + you…+ me. Why ? To help building the studio, no more and no less. How ? By contributing to their crowdfunding campaign on Indiegogo until the 23rd of June. How (second option) ? By sharing the info so that others can also support the project !

13165977_840083926098107_5136359187076966085_n

Support them ♥ :

indiegogo.com/projects/philippi-music-project

And discover more about the project :

through their website :

philippimusicproject.strikingly.com

or on

facebook + soundcloud + twitter

Author

Mawena Yehouessi
Diplomée de Philosophie puis Gestion de Projets Culturels, Mawena fait ses premières armes dans les milieux de l’art contemporain tout en menant de front divers projets : soirées, édition, collectifs artistiques… Fondatrice et directrice de Black(s) to the Future, son objectif est simple : mettre en lumière la part « afro » du monde et performer le futur. | www.mawenayehouessi.fr // @ma.wena
All the team

Comments
Recommended
Blacks to the future
A SPACE FOR SHARING AND COLLECTIVE EXPERIMENTATIONS.
Black(s) to the Future is a transmedia platform, nurtured by afrofuturism. We propose online contents, we organize events and we develop products and services.
About
Join Us !

Philippi Music Project
Auteur
Mawena Yehouessi

Philippi, c’est le nom d’un des township du Cap (Afrique du Sud), mais c’est aussi l’origine du Philippi Music Project, projet d’innovation sociale et musical lancé en 2014 par Sibusiso Nyamakazi et Baptiste Guillemet.

D’un côté, nous avons les bidonvilles, ces quartiers hyper paupérisés d’Afrique, d’Amérique Latine et d’ailleurs, qui regorgent certes de criminalité et d’addictions – entre autres fléaux… – mais aussi d’inventivité et de débrouillardise, de talents bruts et alternatifs, et dont la volonté et l’enthousiasme forcent l’admiration. De l’autre, il y a le Cap : une ville-lumière hyperactive, foisonnante et admirable en de nombreux points et dont l’attractivité n’est désormais plus à prouver. Le souci – et on le connait trop bien – c’est que cette métropole sud-africaine, comme toute métropole qui se respecte, a forgé sa superbe sur les bases de l’exclusion et du déni de ses populations les plus en difficulté, et des cicatrices de 43 ans d’apartheid, aboli en 1991…

 

Mais il ne s’agit ici pas de vous faire un cours sur les revers de la gloire capitaliste ou d’insister sur les tribulations quotidiennes de la vie des townships. Nous ce qui nous intéresse c’est cette initiative, Philippi Music Project, qui n’est pas porteuse d’espoirs diaphanes ou de paillettes mais propose des solutions concrètes aux habitants du quartier éponyme et des environs.

_________

 

12642483_787189054720928_5783308189001716589_n

Tout commence en juillet 2014 avec Sibusiso Nyamakazi, alors 23 ans, écrivain, MC et musicien. Charismatique en diable et impliqué dans différents programmes de développement de la communauté où il a grandi, Philippi (via le réseau Inyanda Youth Network notamment), il fait la rencontre d’étudiants en Innovation sociale de l’Université du Cap dont un jeune français, Baptiste Guillemet, catapulté dans les environs par un mélange de karma et de curiosité bienveillante. Très vite copains, ils passent partenaires parce que eux aussi font le constat d’une urgence à changer les choses, ici et maintenant, avec les moyens du bord plutôt que d’attendre que les solutions ne nous arrivent toutes cuites et dans un beau packaging.

 

dmmysyyynf7c9maju3px

 

Leur idée est simple : trouver une manière de réduire l’écart entre le Cap et ses townships. La musique leur semble alors un point d’entrée naturel, comme pratique cathartique et d’empowerment : elle est un matériau social propice aux échanges et vecteur de transmission ! Ils lancent alors un premier concours, devant offrir l’opportunité à ces chanteurs et musiciens défavorisés d’être embarqués dans la production professionnelle d’une compilation, en travaillant avec des acteurs de l’industrie (producteurs, média, studio) à créer, marketer et vendre un produit musical.

 

En 1 mois, ils récoltent plus de 150 candidatures venues de Philippi et des alentours. Mais très vite aussi il réalisent que proposer aux jeunes de venir enregistrer au Cap est une chose… mais comment faire quand la moitié d’entre eux n’ont déjà pas les moyens techniques et financiers d’enregistrer la maquette de candidature ? Peu farouches, Sbu et Bap, comme ils s’appellent, décident alors de rendre visites à ces artistes locaux et de faire le taff eux-même, cahin-caha ; le premier étant précédé de son aura d’activiste engagé et d’enfant du quartier, le second équipé de son ordi, son micro et sa carte son.

 

IMAGE 01

 

Le projet est un beau succès et le jury composé de producteurs et artistes reconnus de l’industrie, membres de maisons de disques comme Black Mango Music ou encore d’organisations actives sur les scènes électroniques comme RedBull ou Bridges for Music, sélectionne 10 artistes hip-hop, house ou même gospel pour en faire une compile. Mais l’effervescence retombée, la situation de départ n’a pas franchement évolué et nos deux compères commencent à penser à la phase 2.

 

Philippi Project, c’est un container de 12m de long équipé d’un studio d’enregistrement professionnel. Mais parce que de manière très lucide, il s’agit de travailler à partir de la réalité du bidonville, c’est aussi un réseau d’acteurs associés comme Britecap (une app sud-africaine aidant à la recherche d’emploi), Playing for Change (un réseau d’écoles de musique) ou encore la SAE Institute (une école privée de musique, audiovisuel et design qui propose un programme de bourses pour des formations plus poussées).

 

12669909_10153886414839872_1739362507_o

 

Autour de cela, c’est encore de la création d’événements, des concerts, des ateliers et du mentorat mis à disposition gratuitement aux musiciens utilisateurs du studio. Le Philippi Music Project se finance par les services de studio d’enregistrement, mastering et mixing. La distribution et les évènements génèrent également des revenus partagés avec les artistes. Car il ne s’agit pas de perpétuer une dramaturgie relationnelle du don, mais d’amorcer une économie sociale et solidaire, pérenne, à partir du township et à destination du township.

 

Aujourd’hui, ils ont besoin de nous : toi + toi + toi… + moi. Pourquoi ? Aider à la construction du studio, ni plus, ni moins. Comment ? En contribuant à leur campagne de crowdfunding sur Indiegogo jusqu’au 23 juin minuit. Comment (bis) ? En diffusant l’info pour que d’autres personnes soutiennent elles aussi le projet !

 

13165977_840083926098107_5136359187076966085_n

 

Soutenez-les ♥ :

indiegogo.com/projects/philippi-music-project

Et découvrez en plus sur le projet :

via leur site :

philippimusicproject.strikingly.com

ou sur

facebook + soundcloud + twitter

Auteur

Mawena Yehouessi
Diplomée de Philosophie puis Gestion de Projets Culturels, Mawena fait ses premières armes dans les milieux de l’art contemporain tout en menant de front divers projets : soirées, édition, collectifs artistiques… Fondatrice et directrice de Black(s) to the Future, son objectif est simple : mettre en lumière la part « afro » du monde et performer le futur. | www.mawenayehouessi.fr // @ma.wena
Voir toute l'équipe

Commentaires
Recommandé
Blacks to the future
UN REGARD NOVATEUR SUR L’AFRICANITÉ ET SES MODES D’EXPRESSION.
Black(s) to the Future s’adresse aux acteurs et actrices du monde de demain : c'est un espace d’interaction et de rapprochement d’initiatives créatives, relevant le défi AFRIQUE + FUTUR.
A Propos
Rejoignez-nous